Skip to content

Andrew Carnegie Medal finalists

May 18, 2012

Finalists announced for first Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction—co-sponsored by Booklist/RUSA

This is the first time ALA has offered single-book awards for adult trade fiction and nonfiction. The awards are made possible by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York and are co-sponsored by Booklist and RUSA.

The winning fiction title and nonfiction title will be announced in June. The authors of the two winning titles will each receive a $5,000 cash prize, while the four remaining finalists will each receive $1,500.

Here are the 2012 finalists:

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction:

The Forgotten Waltz, by Anne Enright,
published by W. W. Norton & Company

Lost Memory of Skin, by Russell Banks,
published by Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Swamplandia!, by Karen Russell,
published by Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Random House, Inc.

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction:

Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman, by Robert K. Massie, published by Random House, an imprint of the Random House Publishing Group

The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, by James Gleick, published by Pantheon Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention, by Manning Marable,
published by Viking Penguin, a member of Penguin Group (USA)

Get information on the finalists, the selection committee, and the awards themselves.

From → Awards

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: