Skip to content

Game of thrones

August 31, 2012

by Natalie

I recently watched the first series of “Game of thrones”, based on the Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. Martin.

It was an engrossing series, excellently acted by well-known stars such as Sean Bean. This prompted me to read the novel, as normally a dramatisation of a novel is adapted for screen and you get more depth in the actual book. Amazingly, the screenplay followed the book very closely, 99% the same, I’d say.  The main difference I noted was that the age of the younger people had been raised on-screen – for example, in the book, Sansa is 12 and Daenerys is 13, but on-screen they both seem 16-18 years.   Obviously, this is understandable for a television audience, adhering to contemporary moral standards.

Even though series two is about to screen, and series three is under production, I just can’t wait to see what happens so am continuing to read the rest of this fantastic series.

Because the whole thing is set in “medieval” times, with knights and damsels, wars and political intrigue, this series will appeal to a wide range of viewers, including the men-folk.  It also has the fantasy element of the “Others”, dragons and mystical happenings. Highly recommended 9/10.

Another review

From → Review

2 Comments
  1. Raewyn permalink

    Thanks Natalie. Now I know a bit more about this book you have whetted my appetite for more of the medieval writing I love. I’d better put my name on the wait-list

  2. Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and
    let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.

    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

Comments are closed.

