Skip to content

Is it just me?

February 24, 2013

“Is it just me?” / by Miranda Hart

If you’ve never watched Miranda on TV, it doesn’t really affect your enjoyment of this book – but knowing her on-screen persona meant I could “hear” her talking through this book!Miranda Hart

It’s catalogued as a biography and in a way it is as well as a book of observations and anecdotes. I found the style of having a young Miranda talking in the book somewhat strange, but there were lots of laugh out loud moments much to the hubby’s surprise, especially when I was reading just before lights out. Although Miranda seems destined to get in far more jolly scrapes than the rest of us there were whole chapters where I had to shake my head and say yep, done that or similar.

By the end of the book Miranda seems to have achieved that rare state where she’s at peace with who she is, and how her life gallops on. I, for one, don’t ever want her to change. Her humour and TV comedy is so old-school British that it makes a nice change. Definitely a light hearted read if you need something that you can drop and go back to. I love the poem at the end and so will share it with you all.

At least 5 stars and a wham bar.

Reviewed by Corinna

Hold fast to dreams

For if dreams die

Life is a broken-winged bird

That cannot fly

Hold fast to dreams

For when dreams go

Life is a barren field

Frozen with snow.

– By Langston Hughes

Comments are closed.

