Skip to content

Maybe the programme is better?

May 18, 2013

Between a screen version and a book version, in my world the book version wins 99.99% of the time. That is why the 0.01 % (yes the maths works) disappoints me so much, in that this is a TV programme I really enjoy… Doctor Who.

TDewey 791.4572 GOS   he books “Dr Who’s a history of the universe in 100 objects” by James Goss and Steve Tribe, and the similar “Doctor Who’s monsters” just do not have enough structure to work, in my opinion.  I believe a book should have at least one of two purposes; to entertain or to inform (a really good book does both), yet these seem to achieve neither.

As I said, these books are really let down by their structure in that the information or entertainment they are trying to bring us just does not arrive before they are off trying to bring us the next one. Never did I have moment to stop and think wow or really?

The mixture of true fact and fiction in the books just just does not gell for me.  So the only reason I finished reading them was I hate leaving things unfinished (and it was Doctor Who after all), but let’s put it this way – in a choice between the new television series of Doctor Who,  and reading the next book in this series, I know which one I’m waiting for, and the book loses.  As I always say though, preference is always subjective and at the end of the day, whichever one you enjoy,  I’m glad.

– by Darren Russell

From → Review

Comments are closed.

