Skip to content

Pulitzer prize winners 2013

May 24, 2013

The Pulitzer prize for fiction 2013 has been awarded to “The Orphan Master’s Son” by Adam Johnson (Random House), an exquisitely crafted novel that carries the reader on an adventuresome journey into the depths of totalitarian North Korea and into the most intimate spaces of the human heart.  This novel is available at the library.

The Pulitzer prize for general non fiction 2013 has been awarded to “Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America,” by Gilbert King (Harper), a richly detailed chronicle of racial injustice in the Florida town of Groveland in 1949, involving four black men falsely accused of rape and drawing a civil rights crusader, and eventual Supreme Court justice, into the legal battle.

The Pulitzer prize for biography 2013 went to “The Black Count: Glory, Revolution, Betrayal, and the Real Count of Monte Cristo,” by Tom Reiss (Crown), a compelling story of a forgotten swashbuckling hero of mixed race whose bold  exploits were captured by his son, Alexander Dumas, in famous 19th century novels.

The prizes have been around since American-Hungarian journalist Joseph Pulitzer left an endowment in his will in 1904 for the establishment of these prizes as an incentive for excellence.    – Heather/Natalie

Joseph Pulitzer


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: