Skip to content

Harry Potter First Edition Sells for $227,421

May 28, 2013

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Money: A First Edition Sells for $227,421 – Jen Doll – The Atlantic Wire.

That’s a lot of money, but it is Harry Potter after all. And it’s signed and annotated by the author. Have you read the series?  I’ve read it at least three times and although I feel the later books could benefit from some editing, they remain one of my favourite series. And I’m an adult, in case you’re wondering! From the first sentence, I’m transported to another world, where the fate if young Harry hangs in the balance, and his “life” supersedes my own! It doesn’t seem to matter that I know the stories so well, it affects me the same each reading.

Having been a childhood fan of the Narnia series by C.S. Lewis, I find the Potter books to have a similar flavour, in that morality, good versus evil,  friendship and loyalty are key themes. Perhaps that’s why I like them so much?  Do you love Harry Potter too?  Or what are some of your favourite children’s or young adult series?

– Natalie

Comments are closed.

