Skip to content

Winners of the NZ Post Children’s Book Awards 2013

June 25, 2013

Into the riverA teen novel that follows a boy’s journey from his small rural East Coast home to an elite Auckland school has picked up the top prize at this year’s New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards. Ted Dawe’s book Into the River won the New Zealand Post Margaret Mahy Book of the Year and was also the winner of the Young Adult Fiction category.

  The New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards winners for 2013 are:

Best Young Adult Fiction and New Zealand Post Margaret Mahy Book of the Year Into the River* by Ted Dawe Mangakino University Press ISBN 9780473205089
Best Non-Fiction 100 Amazing Tales from Aotearoa by Simon Morton & Riria Hotere Te Papa Press ISBN 9781877385797
Best Junior Fiction My Brother’s War by David Hill Penguin Group NZ ISBN 9780143307174 (paperback) ISBN 9781742532653 (e-book)
Honour award, Junior FictionThe Queen and the Nobody Boy: A Tale of Fontania series by Barbara Else Gecko Press ISBN 9781877579493
Best Picture Book Mister Whistler by Margaret Mahy & Gavin Bishop Gecko Press ISBN 9781877467929
Best First BookReach by Hugh Brown HarperCollins ISBN 9781869509569
Children’s Choice Melu by Kyle Mewburn, Ali Teo & John O’Reilly, Scholastic NZ ISBN 9781775430278

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: