Skip to content

Ahem, hem. When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple…

August 16, 2013

with a red hat which doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me. And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves, and satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter. I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired and gobble up samples inold woman shops and press alarm bells and run my stick along the public railings and make up for the sobriety of my youth. I shall go out in my slippers in the rain and pick flowers in other people’s gardens and learn to spit(see more).

Unfortunately, I can’t lay claim to that poem (it was Jenny Joseph) but I’d like to be able to express myself like that!  poem in your pocketToday (16 August) is National Poetry Day.

So get your creative juices flowing and give it a go, and have a poem in your pocket to share or learn.

New Zealand has plenty of well known poets, for example below, and we have a good selection of poetry in our 821 section. Click on the links to see some items we hold.

– Natalie

From → Non-Fiction

Comments are closed.

