Skip to content

No way back

September 25, 2013

The new Lee Child book “Never go back” landed on my desk recently, and I didn’t waste a minute diving in. I was a bit disappointed by the last two books so was keen to see if Lee had got his groove back. This is his 18th Reacher book and many are wondering how long the series can go on and how he will finish it, but for all us fans out there I hope there are a few more in the pipeline. Apart from terrible films starring inappropriate lead males, this is a series that continues to hold its fans in its grip.

never go backNever Go Back sees Reacher finally getting to Virginia to meet Major Susan Turner who he spoke to in a previous novel. Nothing is smooth and simple in Reacher’s life and turning back up at his old command just proves this, as he is seconded back into the army, facing two historical charges against him. Reacher is back in fighting mode in no time. He also still wants to meet Susan.

What follows is a well written, fast paced story with lots of twists and turns. I do think Child’s writing style has changed over the books, but I think it has something to do with the character growing older. There’s no way Reacher could be as physical as he was in the earlier books, and I like Child’s for aging the character with subtlety and style. There are still the things we expect to see in a Reacher novel – a love of mathematical patterns, a high moral code, well written conversations and head-butts, and I have yet to find an author who writes a character like Reacher or a story in the same style, and that I suppose is what brings me back every time a new book appears. He is a thinking thug with no real conscience. His way is the right way for him and that sits fine with him. He doesn’t mind violence but he always offers an alternative, but he only offers 3 times.

The only problem I have with these books is that I finish them so quickly and I have to wait so long for the next one. For new readers, any Lee Child book is a joy to read (well maybe except the previous two) but if you really want to know Reacher you have to start at the beginning of the series, and read all the way through, something I like to do on long holidays. These stories never get old.

Oh well, back to the chick lits!

– Corinna

From → New Books, Review

Comments are closed.

