Skip to content

Review: The cuckoo’s calling / Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling)

September 30, 2013

After critics panned Rowling’s first adult novel ‘Casual Vacancy’, perhaps she was wise to write ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’ as Robert Galbraith. I have to admit, ‘Casual Vacancy’ muddled along and failed to compel me to read it through to the end – life’s too short for bad books! But with ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’, Rowling is back on form, using the compelling writing that ensnared a billion or so young readers in the Harry Potter series.

I tried to remain aloof as I read, thinking I would be impartial – i.e. I wouldn’t just like it because JK had written it. I failed and was entangled in the well-crafted plot from beginning to end. Rowling has a gift for character studies, and creates a feeling of empathy in her readers, ensuring we care about what happens to them – as well as needing to find out what happens in this twisted murder mystery. ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’ is as captivating as any murder mystery, and while I won’t spoil the ending, let’s just say the title makes sense at the end.

– Tamara

One Comment
  1. I just couldn’t quite get into it…the characters were captivating and the plot intriguing, but it just moved along much too slow for me.

    http://igeekteenbooks.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/the-cuckoos-calling-a-book-review/

Comments are closed.

