Skip to content

How to manage your ‘to be read’ list…

March 18, 2014

I don’t know about you, but I have a “yet to read” list as long as both arms and a leg.  The trouble is, there are so many books and so little time, and only two eyes!  I’m often surprised to find that by the time I get around to a book on my list, a year or two have since passed since publication.

A radical reading (un)plan is an article by Rebecca Joines Schinsky on the Book Riot web site, which helps readers with the dreadful problem of how to keep track of what you want to read. I found it quite useful.

“If your To Be Read list has become a source of stress, get rid of it. If that pile of unread books in your home gives you guilt rather than anticipatory pleasure, spread those suckers out on the floor and yank out the ones you’re no longer interested in. If you really wanted to read that book you’ve had sitting around for a decade, you’d have done it by now. Donate it to a charity. If buying books makes you feel committed, use your library.”

– Natalie

Comments are closed.

