Skip to content

Charlaine Harris – not just a one-hit wonder

June 18, 2014

Sometimes it’s easy to forget that when you join the library, your library card not only allows you to borrow from your local branch but also the rest of the Tararua District libraries. Recently I had the pleasure of helping out in Pahiatua Community Library for the children’s book quiz, so while there, I took the time to peruse their shelves and found many new and exciting titles I wasn’t aware we had.

Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris

One of my favourite authors is Charlaine Harris. Famous for her Sookie Stackhouse series and the abomination that is the TV version (sorry, I’m a purist), Ms Harris is one of those authors who is not a one series wonder. I loved her Sookie books but also the Aurora Teagarden, Lily Bard and Harper Connelly series. A secret rage is one of her early books and as such is slightly less descriptive than her later writing. Those who have read Sookie will understand, but the characters grab you as soon as you start to read, something I have found in all her books.

In “A Secret Rage” Ms Harris deals with a difficult and upsetting subject but she does it with panache and care. There was mystery and detective work and strong female characters, something she is well known for. The twist at the end was unpredictable, and the people who populated this book were engaging without any supernatural abilities.

It is rare for an author to be known for more than one character series and if you like Ms Harris’s writing I would recommend all her books, not something I do lightly or often. Since finishing off her Sookie series, I have enjoyed discovering the rest of her writing, even this older offering. Ms Harris’s world is full of delightful characters and wonderful places as are all our libraries in the district. I can’t wait to read her latest book, “Midnight Crossroad“.

Next time you find yourself in a different town, pop in to our  branch there see for yourself what more we have to offer.

– Corinna

Comments are closed.

