Skip to content

“The sun went down in anger” by Joe Shaw

August 8, 2014

The Sun went down in anger.   For Lillian.

When the Sun went down in anger the darkest

time I felt in my heart, from a cold women

depart, I had no idea of her detest,

like the sunset, going down on a bad Omen

cold and callous of her the sunsets in ire,

sequestered in seclusion behind a wall                                  sunset

of delusion, I feel lost without her,

a Methuselah mentality long and pall

 

I will with-draw wretched “tis’’true

a life of sorrow, things might change

tomorrow? The Sun will shine for me too,

but I’ll die alone an out-cast by name;

 

the Sun is gone in shame, like a hot knife

cutting deep into my heart, such is life.

 

©2014

Poem by Joseph.E. Shaw. (Christchurch)

From → Competitions

Comments are closed.

