Skip to content

Is young adult fiction being forgotten?

March 12, 2015

young adults yaOn a recent Saturday, myself and the rugrats took advantage of a sunny day and headed out of Eketahuna to the beach at Herbertville. Stopping along the way at Dannevirke Library for reading material, we stocked up from the young adult section and hit the sand. Number one son seriously underestimated the distance and had finished his two books before we arrived but number one daughter and myself were more organised!

I read a couple of great books by author Megan McCafferty. “Bumped” and “Thumped” are futuristic stories where a mysterious virus has rendered everyone over 18 years old sterile. This means that teenagers are the new commodity, fulfilling the worlds need for babies. But they don’t get to keep them, they act as surrogate bodies for older couples. These books are well written from the point of view of twins, separated at birth and bought up in very different circumstances. I found the story quick paced and well thought out. They got read in a couple of days but the story and idea have lingered and they are a great talking point on the theme of teenage pregnancies. I liked all the characters, including the 17 year old stud and the ending was well written with enough of a hang so you feel the need to fill in the future for them. I wanted a much happier ending than I got but I also felt that this wasn’t the end. Whether Ms McCafferty writes more on this idea or I just fill in the blanks myself, these are a great couple of books.

I sometimes worry that our young adult collections are seriously forgotten. There is a lot of fantastic well written material there.  I mean, just look at ‘The Hunger Games’, ‘The Fault in Our Stars’, ‘The Maze’, ‘Divergent’, ‘The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants’, ‘The Giver’, ‘The Book Thief’, ‘Delirium’, ‘Ender’s Game’ and the later Harry Potter books for a start – all young adult fiction. That’s just the tip of the iceberg people!

Until next time.

– Corinna

From → Review

Comments are closed.

