Skip to content

Some like it Scot…

April 8, 2017

The Outlander series, by Diana Gabaldon, consists of eight novels – it has been around for a number of years and was originally called Cross Stitch. I started reading it last year, and can’t believe that I have not read it sooner! Where have I been all this time!!

Be warned – these books are hefty reads – not for the faint-hearted on so many levels –  rich with history, politics, war and no shortage of steamy love  scenes that would put ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ to shame!  The reading is not easy going – for me, personally, there were some tedious parts (war and politics)- but these are interwoven with an often racing plot full of twists and turns and completely un-put-down-able.

The absolute immersion in the history I found so absorbing.  And throw in the fact that the central character, Claire Beauchamp Randall Fraser (called Sassenach by her highlander soul mate Jamie Fraser) is a time traveller – makes for an absolute rollicking read!  I just want to go home and throw myself under the covers and never get up until I have reached the end of Claire and Jamie’s fascinating life.

The novels go back and forth in time – from 1940s Inverness, Scotland to 1740 Inverness, at the first stirrings of the Jacobite rebellion.  Over to France, back to Scotland –  and then forward to 1940s Scotland and  1960s America – THEN back to 1770 Scotland and across the water  to Colonial America, at the beginnings of the War of Independence.. Phew!  I have learned so much , and have so much left to go – I LOVE this series so far ( am currently reading An Echo in the Bone, book 7).  And to top it off, it is now out on DVD –  so I am making my way through the DVD series  as well – which is available to borrow through Tararua District Library.

So, come on, I dare you! If you haven’t discovered the Outlander series, and love a good dose of history/romance/action/war/fantasy, you will love this I guarantee!  But don’t expect to find these books sitting idly on the shelves, this series is so popular, that you often will need to reserve it.  Diana Gabaldon hasn’t finished yet – she is currently researching and writing her 9th novel “Don’t tell the bees that I’m gone”.  No word yet on publication, her books generally take 2-3 years to write.. ohhh.. the anticipation!

Pamela

From → Review

Comments are closed.

